

British Association of Endocrine & Thyroid Surgeons - A Short History

Endocrine Surgical Associations – history

By the 1950s several surgeons were beginning to see and practise surgery of the endocrine system. Among the first was Oliver Cope in Boston.

In 1971 (25 – 29 January) an international course in endocrine surgery was organised at the Royal Postgraduate Medical School at Hammersmith by Richard Welbourn, Selwyn Taylor and their colleagues. The speakers included Ivan Johnston (Newcastle) and Orlo Clark (San Francisco), who was then working at Hammersmith.

IAES

In 1979 Peter Heimann, a Swedish surgeon who was Professor of Surgery at the University of Bergen, wrote to colleagues and proposed the formation of an 'International Association of Endocrine Surgeons' (IAES). Peter Heimann died from Gastric cancer in March 1979, but the IAES was formed in September of that year during the meeting of the International Society of Surgery in San Francisco. Selwyn Taylor was elected President and Orlo Clark secretary.

BAES

During this meeting Richard Welbourn and Ivan Johnston conceived the idea of forming a British Society of Endocrine Surgeons. On 25th March 1980 they arranged an informal one-day meeting on endocrine surgery at Hammersmith hospital. Richard Welbourn was elected Chairman, Ivan Johnston Secretary. The British committee met and proposed the formation of an 'Endocrine Surgical Group'.

AAES

Also in 1980 an American Association of Endocrine Surgeons was formed with Norman Thompson (Ann Arbor) as President.

1980 - Present

In 1981 at a meeting in Birmingham the Endocrine Surgical Group was formed. The meeting lasted a day and the highlight was a guest lecture by Per-Ola Granberg of the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, on 'reoperations for primary

hyperparathyroidism'. He and two distinguished senior British surgeons – Sewlyn Taylor and Hilary Wade – were elected to Honorary Membership. Professor Welbourn proposed a Crest for the Group, depicting an endocrine gland or tumour, containing a steroid nucleus, a peptide chain and thyroid hormone molecules, with a scalpel superimposed. The Group, however, did not accept it and the Committee was asked to reconsider the matter. Mr Chris Pegg from Nottingham created the definitive design of the logo, which is also the template for the Presidential medal. This oval crest incorporates the pituitary, parathyroids, thyroid, pancreas, adrenals and testes.

In 1982 the Group met at St Bartholomew's Hospital Medical School and changed its name to 'British Endocrine Surgical Group'. In 1984 at a meeting at St Thomas' Hospital Medical School, the name was once more changed to 'British Association of Endocrine Surgeons', which reflected the prestige that the Society had achieved. In 1986 the Association was recognised by the Department of Health as the representative organisation of Endocrine Surgery. In 1994, the British Journal of Surgery prize for the best paper at the Scientific meeting was inaugurated. The award of £500 was shared by Mr GP Sadler and Mr G Asimakopoulos. In 2007 the members voted to change the name to 'British Association of Endocrine and Thyroid Surgeons' to emphasise that the Group is the professional body for thyroid surgeons, and thyroid surgery constitutes two-thirds of all endocrine surgery. The current membership is 266.

Venue of Annual Scientific meeting:

1981	Birmingham
1982	St Bartholomew's Hospital, London
1983	John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford
1984	St Thomas' Hospital, London
1985	The Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle-upon-Tyne
1986	The Royal College of Surgeons of England, London
1987	The Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh,
1988	University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff
1989	Cite Hospitaliere, Lille
1990	The Royal London Hospital, London
1991	Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge
1992	The Kent and Canterbury Hospital, Canterbury
1993	The Bristol Royal Infirmary, Bristol
1994	The Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast
1995	Queens Medical Centre, Nottingham
1996	The Royal Liverpool Hospital, Liverpool
1997	Aberdeen Royal Infirmary, Aberdeen
1998	Northern General Hospital, Sheffield
1999	Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh,
2000	Millennium Meeting: London with AAES and Swedish AES (St Thomas') and CHRU, Lille
2001	Derriford Hospital, Plymouth

2002	Palazzo dei Congressi, Pisa
2003	University of Leeds, Leeds
2004	Grand Hotel, Lund
2005	International Centre for Life, Newcastle upon Tyne
2006	St Anne's College, Oxford
2007	Royal Marsden Hospital, London
2008	Hemicycle de la Communaute Urbaine, Marseille
2009	St Thomas' Hospital, London
2010	Birmingham (joint meeting with BAHNO)
2011	Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere, Poitiers
2012	Wales Millennium Centre, Cardiff
2013	Universita Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Rome
2014	Liverpool Town Hall, Liverpool
2015	Phyllis Court Club, Henley-upon-Thames
2016	Hilton Hotel, Berlin
2017	The Assembly Rooms, Belfast
2018	TIC, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow
2019	Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Campus de la Ciutadella, Barcelona

Officers of the Association

Presidents	
1981-1982	Professor Richard Welbourn (London)
1982-1983	Professor Gerard Taylor (London)
1984-1986	Professor Ivan Johnston (Newcastle)
1987-1989	Mr Andrew Gunn (Dundee)
1989-1991	Mr Malcolm Wheeler (Cardiff)
1991-1992	Mr John Webb (Bristol)
1993-1995	Mr Colin Russell (Belfast)
1995-1997	Mr Tony Barnes (Birmingham)
1997-1999	Mr Nicholas Dudley (Oxford)
1999-2001	Professor John Farndon (Bristol)
2001-2003	Mr Richard Collins (Canterbury)
2003-2005	Mr Anthony Young (London)
2005-2007	Professor Zyg Krukowski (Aberdeen)
2007-2009	Professor Tom Lennard (Newcastle)
2009-2011	Mr Barney Harrison (Sheffield)
2011-2013	Mr John Watkinson (Birmingham)
2013-2015	Mr David Scott-Coombes (Cardiff)
2015-2017	Mr Mark Lansdown (Leeds)
2017-2019	Mr Gregory Sadler (Oxford)
2019-Present	Mr Jeremy Davis (Gillingham)

Honorary secretary/treasurer 1981-1983 Professo

1981-1983	Professor Ivan Johnston
1983-1995	Professor AW Goode
1995-2002	Mr Barney Harrison

2002-2 2007-2		Mr Richard Bliss Mr Greg Sadler		
Secretary 2012-2016 2016 – Present		Mr Ashu Gandhi Mr Michael Stechman		
<i>Treasurer</i> 2012-2017 2017- Present		Mr Jeremy Davis Miss Fiona Eatock		
BJS Lecturers				
2019	Primary Hyperparathyroidism and the Cardiovascular System Professor Inga-Lena Nilsson, Stockholm, Sweden			
2018	Forty years as trainee and trainer Professor Bruno Carnaille, Lille, France			
2017	Utilising science in Endocrine Surgery to solve clinical problems and develop novel therapies Professor Stan Sidhu, Sidney, Australia			
2016	The human C cell and its tumours Professor Bruno Niederle, Vienna, Austria			
2015	Molecular aspects of Thyroid Cancer: from microscope to operating table Professor Nikiforov, Pittsburgh, USA			
2014	The Treatment of "asymptomatic" hyperparathyroidism Dr Janice L Pasieka, Calgary, Canada			
2013	Prevention and management of iatrogenic hypoparathyroidism Professor A. Sitges-Serra, Barcelona, Spain			
2012	The future of nerve monitoring in thyroid surgery Dr Greg Randolph, Massachusetts, USA			
2011	Indications and extent of lymphadenectomy in well differentiated thyroid cancer Dr Geoff Thompson, Rochester, USA			
2010	Investigation and Management of Retro-Sternal Goitre Datuk Dr Noor Hisham Bin Abdullah Deputy Minister of Health, Malaysia			

- 2009 Challenges in Medullary Thyroid Cancer.

 Professor Henning Dralle, Halle, Germany
- 2008 Incorporation of new technologies into clinical practice. **Dr Jon van Heerden, Mayo Clinic, USA**